Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How does your garden grow.

Mari

Default How does your garden grow.

During March I purchased a rose bush [Rosa Europeana] from my local market stall.
    It has taken well, and growing happily in the spot where I planted it, It was only about 2ft in height when bought, and now its grown taller than me, with plent of bloom. The only one thing is puzzles me though, it produces red and yellow roses. Could this be because the yellow roses have been grafted onto the 'mother' plant, so to speak?
    I'm not a rose expert , but the Rosa Europeana is normally red , as far as I know.

Anyway it is looking healthy and was well worth a fiver.

The red rose is just beginning to open

Image0006.jpg

Image0007.jpg

Image0110.jpg

032.jpg

090.jpg
    Last edited by Mari; 20-06-2012 at 07:07 PM.

Pillar of the Community

Beautiful, Mari. I am not very good with plants. I did my hanging baskets in April each one with a pink petunia, purple surfinia and a red busy lizzie. One basket has sort of withered with only half of it in bloom unbalancing the rest. All plants were healthy when I put them in and all were from the same nursery so I have no idea what ails it. The others are looking very colourful and brighten up the garden which otherwise would be very bare as I don't go in for flower gardens with borders because of all of the weeding needed. There is a tall crop of lilies coming up in the pot at the head of the pond which has the most magnificent flowers with a wonderful scent. This should be right on cue in the next week or so.

I have no garden but do have a few pots on the balcony and need to plant some bee friendly flowers.
    Cool

Roses generally do well if they are not deprived of water, have the deadheads removed and get a bit of fertilizer. At the end of the flowering and when they were generally ready for it I pruned them as well. Mari, yours are looking absolutely lovely so you must be doing a great job of keeping them happy.