PDA

View Full Version : Gladys

Gladys
08-07-2008, 03:55 PM
Hello All, I just thought it would be polite if I said a formal 'Hello' to you as I come from southern climbs.(Hampshire) My son is at college in your area and I used to live near by as a child. Anyway, I hope you are keeping dry in this lovely weather- suitable for ducks but I'm not one, well as far as I know I'm not. :)

Will
08-07-2008, 04:52 PM
Welcome Gladys, it's great to have you with us! What college does you son attend? I was a Mid-Warwickshire student myself, I think they are now known as Warwickshire College though.

Gladys
08-07-2008, 05:02 PM
Hello Will, He has gone between Leamington and moreton Morrell. He'll be back at Moreton after the summer to finish his pre-Farriery course. He has wanted to be a farrier since he was 14, he's now 18.:)

Will
08-07-2008, 07:09 PM
I'd say Morton Morrell is the best place to learn it too. I've been round there a few times, it's quite an amazing place for a college. Sounds like your son has a good ambition, wish I'd done something as unique as that. :)

Gladys
08-07-2008, 07:34 PM
Yes, so do I. I didn't realise it takes a further 4years 2 months in Apprenticed training after this. There's much more to it than I thought but there again if Red Rum or one of the other greats had had a 'bad' shoe stuck on, they wouldn't have got to where they did! Happy feet makes a happier horse. It is a beautiful setting for sure- shame about the fire at The Manor House though.:eek:

Will
08-07-2008, 08:48 PM
Yeah that was a shame, I don't know if much was lost, I hope not. Four years more apprenticeship afterwards? That's a hell of a long time, still I'm willing to bet it will be more than worth it in the end, there can't be many people doing it these days.

Gladys
08-07-2008, 09:04 PM
It was raised to the ground and is going to cost ?£3m to fix. This is what my son told me on his last trip home a few weeks ago. It may even be more.